Done……

Standard

I began this journey when I got my first gig in public schools as an after school tutor at age 19. Twenty-nine years later, the joy and wonder I had that first day has died. I’m done. I’m toast. I no longer believe.

It’s a terrible place to be. I come to this conclusion after I have spent the last three years trying to find my place in education. Three years, three jobs. And no closer to feeling the fulfillment I felt just five short years ago. It’s gone. I can’t find it. And I’ve searched diligently.

So what has brought me to this point of reconciling with myself that I need to leave the profession? I can’t say exactly when or how, just that it has happened. I do know that I’m tired of battling the politics of education. Placing teachers and students in positions that have no happy endings. Placing kids two years behind in math the very first day of this school year has not helped. My anger rages at the state for setting our kids up for failure before they can even get started. Add to that a new appraisal system for teachers next year that ties their performance to student performance on the state assessment. Remember that two year deficit in math?? Teachers will be graded on that. Hmmm,

The good news is that there are excellent teachers out there that still burn with passion and will excel under these circumstances. Thank God for them. I just can’t find that passion. I think it’s time to pass my torch.

Now to polish my resume…..anyone interested in hiring a burnt out teacher?????

One response »

Leave a comment